PDA

View Full Version : cig lighter and cd changer issues

the_priest
1st November 2013, 02:24 AM
Hello, newbie here from the UK

i recently bought a 1999 2.8TD manual GR, did only about 100 miles on it. Obviously the car has minor issues.

the first one is that cig lighter is not working (power socket in the trunk also does not work). If i read the electric schema correctly the cig lihgter has a fuse with number 13 that is fine. The power socket has two fuses numbers 9 and 46. 46 is dead and i have already ordered it. But again if i understand things correctly 46 has nothing to do with the cig lighter. so what are the next steps to trouble shoot the issue?

The second issue i feel a bit stupid about: how do i eject the cd changer magazine?

thanks in advance

Woof
1st November 2013, 08:13 PM
Hey mate, just go over to the introduction section and post up an intro, always a nice thing to do before asking for any assistance.

the_priest
1st November 2013, 10:27 PM
indeed, sorry about that. just done it

04OFF
1st November 2013, 10:41 PM
See if you have power at the plug/wire that goes on to the back of the cig lighter housing, this will tell you if its a supply problem, or as i suspect , a problem with the housing itself (overheated), you should be able to reach in behind the console and pull the plug off , or probe in place with a 12V test light (or multimeter)

Have no idea what CD changer came in a pootrol, let alone a pommy version, but after you open the slide door to expose the mag, is there not a eject button inside ? (may be black and so not very obvious)

the_priest
1st November 2013, 11:36 PM
Thanks for the response

i have not got a multimeter, ordered one on ebay, will check once it arrives.

As for the changer - i can't even eject the magazine. Here how it looks:

http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/images/imported/2013/11/1.png