PDA

View Full Version : Continuous starting problem for gq

hershal
28th October 2013, 01:38 PM
Hey guys

As you were al very helpful last time when my gq wouldn't start at all, I thought I would ask the online community for their thoughts again.

Car won't start first go. Takes about 5-6 attempts to start it on fuel. Will never start on LPG. But once it is started and you switch over it will run on LPG.

What I actually want to know is this a fuel issue? Or an ignition issue?

Does the gas system needs fuel primed to start or is it independent?

Cheers

rusty_nail
28th October 2013, 01:40 PM
im not an expert mate, but it sounds like maybe your points need adjusting?

hershal
28th October 2013, 03:11 PM
Yeah I am no expert either. But I like to learn and give things ago.
This could be a home job yeah?

NP99
28th October 2013, 03:15 PM
Points adjusted is an easy home job mate.

threedogs
28th October 2013, 03:42 PM
First off your electrics need to be in A1 condition, new leads, plugs, filters, also upgrade the dizzy to electronic.
Gas also likes it a tad advanced so slight pinging on petrol is the norm, Try sourcing and fitting "Ys" to the water system instead of "Ts"
This improves water flow and helps prevent cavitation in the system and sometimes freezing, Always bleed system at its highest point
if you cant find one create one. An inverted bottle of Coke cut in half is fine

hershal
28th October 2013, 04:30 PM
Yeah I got new leads plugs and cap
I should upgrade to electronic dizzy? Is this easy enough? If it helps ill do it
Wanted to replace most parts in the distributor anyways

With the gas I am not too worried until I can get the fuel starting first go

I remember you saying three dogs regarding those y pieces. Had a look couldn't really find anything but I'll keep looking

my third 256
28th October 2013, 04:42 PM
plenty on e bay