PDA

View Full Version : Another RLI ripping yarn!

PMC
26th October 2013, 11:41 AM
G’day lounge Lizards!

After two years of being runners up in the local basketball championship, I was approached last season and asked if I would coach the team. Well fark me swinging trendsetters, I said "fark yeah"!

Before I got sick two years ago, I had completed an 8 day coaching course covering all sports, I had previously coached Cricket and Rugby teams when I was in the Army, and when I got out of the Army I was also Security industry trainer for many years.

Basketball I said to myself, hmm, fark I said, I will just incorporate the basics and sprinkle some Cricket and Rugby drills voila!!!!!!!!!!! I thought.

Last year’s coach Terri has decided to be my assistant this year which is fantastic as I am still learning the game of basketball and the rules.

Training sessions this year, I took them through the basics, dribbling, passing and various shooting drills. The biggest problem this team had was in defence; they constantly crumbled to the pressure from opposition teams. They lacked confidence and were easily bullied on the court. I had to change this attitude; I had to install ASAP courage, fighting ability and tenacity to help us with our defensive game plan or we were farked!

During the various training sessions this year I would yell out instructions like, “ankle tap the bastards” Then a reply would come from my assistant Coach Terri, “Coach we cannot ankle tap in Basketball” “OK thanks for the heads up” I would say to Terri!

On another occasion I yelled out “Hip & Shoulder, get stuck into the pricks” Then another reply would come from Terri, “Coach we cannot Hip & Shoulder in Basketball” Fark, I would say to myself!”