PDA

View Full Version : First time Patrol owner from Brissie!

Strugs
22nd October 2013, 12:04 PM
G'day Patrollers.

Just bought a white 2003 GU III ST, 4cyl, 3L, 150,000kms, manual diesel with a 2 inch lift. Had her for 1 week and so far I'm loving it. Really looking forward to taking it for a drive along the beach on Bribie soon. :icon_driving:

I've done a little beach driving in my time (in a mate's 4x4), but I'm very new to this as well as excited.

My Patrol has an ARB compressor diff lock for the front wheels (not sure if that was fitted by previous owner or comes standard). I've been doing research on a few 4x4 websites regarding when to switch diff locks on and also when to engage 4x4, but there's a lot of inconsistencies among them.

Am I correct in assuming that I engage 4x4 while the vehicle is stationary? And the same for the diff locks, perhaps with a slow roll forward to allow to click/lock in?

Any advice for a dummy would be appreciated and I look forward to joining in the discussions!

p.s Please don't mock me for any incorrect terminology in the above message :icon_bonk:

Avo
22nd October 2013, 12:54 PM
welcome Strugs,glad to have you here mate,great forum with good advice and great info.

As for the engaging 4x4.I think you'll be right going into high range while moving slowly,but I would stop to put it into low range mate.Can't help you diff locks as I have never had them..Good to see your keen to get out there..while your learning try and stay above the high tide mark mate if your down the beach..

Cheers

Strugs
22nd October 2013, 01:44 PM
Hey, thanks wa 489. Appreciate the advice and the warm welcome. I'm sure someone will be able to help with the diff lock question.

Cheers bud

threedogs
22nd October 2013, 02:08 PM
Hello Strugs and welcome to the Forum,
Jump in anytime and enjoy

As for your Diff lock engage it before you reach the Knarly stuff,
Keep revs around 1800rpm , should see you go most places.