PDA

View Full Version : Buying a GU 4, first 4x4. What to problems to look for?

nexusfiah
20th October 2013, 05:29 PM
Gday all,
Have had a look around the site but have not been able to answer my questions.

I am looking at picking up a 2005 GU4 patrol from one of my wifes colleagues who has offered it at a very reasonable. Only has 160k and has been predominantly used to drag a 2000kg horse float around for his daughters, no actual 4x4ing and no engine problems so far.
As im a uni student, i have excessive time to spend procrastinating on things that are not study related and have read extensively on the issues surrounding this era of patrol (Eg, engine go boom boom), which is why im here.

I was wondering if there is anything indicators or anything i can quickly pull off and have a squiz at once around the corner on a test drive to see if this car is in the preliminary stages of having problems? I have read that the blow up problems were predominantly around the 2000-03, with the major causes of these problems being ironed out in 2004 and more so in 2005. While there is talk of blow ups in later models, the factory cant do bugger all about mechanical neglect.

I know these patrols are a point of contention, but im looking for constructive advice rather than "narr, they fu**ed as ay!" as ill be picking it up if i cant see signs of damage.

Ill be following this dudes advice regarding safeguards as this is the most common sense advice I have read so far.
http://www.chaz.yellowfoot.org/zd30_engine_problems.htm

Cheers,
Rowan.

93patrol
20th October 2013, 05:50 PM
great start mate but if you move this to to intro thread you'll get a quicker reponse and its just something we ask all new people to do as it helps us keep track of new members.
unfortunately i cant help as i own a GQ which in my opinion is fair superior than the newer GU

kevin07
20th October 2013, 05:56 PM