PDA

View Full Version : RD28T timing gear,

Reeves
29th September 2013, 04:48 PM
Last weekend myself and a friend went to do my timing belt and front Crank seal as it has been leaking since I bought the car last year, we had no issues getting it all off until we got to the Timing Gear on the Crank, we spent 5 hours trying to get it off and with no luck,

I had the car towed to my work and I have made a little bit of progress we got the gear to move about half an inch forward with the help of smacking a chisel in behind it,

I need to get it off and fixed as its my daily drive, I am an apprentice mechanic at a Nissan dealership, but I am just asking for some advice and tips on how to get it off. I have a new timing gear, keyway and backing plate, just need to get the old gear off.

Any help would greatly be appreciated

Cheers, Reeves

Col.T
29th September 2013, 07:04 PM
G'day Reevesie,
Sorry I can't help, never even seen under the bonnet of one of them 28's.
Always though had some reservations about the traditional 'get a bigger hammer' approach. Particularly if splines or shafts are involved. Take care mate!
Don't know the job as said so I assume a gear puller isn't a goer. What about heat? A torch can sometimes get a break on a sealed join.
Bit surprised the old buggers at the shop haven't come across it before. Put a 6pack up on offer and see how that goes for suggestions.
Luck,
Col

Col.T
30th September 2013, 07:24 PM
https://www.google.com/url?q=http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php%3F3155-Timing-Belt&sa=U&ei=yDpJUubdCur72QWv44HQBQ&ved=0CBMQFjAE&client=internal-uds-cse&usg=AFQjCNH3iploz48HOLHSX1xBt0IYHvkivw
Reevesie,
not getting much response so far are you?
Dunno how to do this copying of sites into a thread but the one above may have something of use, if you can get it to connect. Jeeeeeez I'm old and dumb!