PDA

View Full Version : Just bough a 2000 Patrol. creaking sound on take off

Fairlane
20th September 2013, 09:02 PM
Hi,
Three issues on my "new" Patrol
when I drive off the car creaks, sounds like a suspension issue but where to start looking?
also there is a definite clunk sometimes as if the drive train is taking up slack?
l any help is appreciated!
cheers

gaddy
20th September 2013, 09:16 PM
I'm no expert but I'd be checking the universal joints first

Ben-e-boy
20th September 2013, 09:20 PM
I would start looking at the suspension....all of it every nut, bolt and bush

AB
20th September 2013, 09:27 PM
Does the clunk only happen when taking off? Only when putting the foot down moderately hard not just a slow take off?

Check your drive shaft as well if the bolts may be loose at the front journal plate area. This happened to an old car I had with a clunk when you took off and was only loose bolts

Could be a million reasons why though. Process of elimination!

Any more info?

Parksy
20th September 2013, 09:27 PM
Broken engine mounts/gearbox mounts can give the impression of too much driveline slack. Hard to check unless you completely remove them. Generally the passenger side engine mount is the first to go. How many km on the car? You might be able to check with a torch and mirror for splits, but it isn't always obvious. Loading up the engine gently in the driveway and having someone watch the engine might give you an indication of too much movement.

Fairlane
20th September 2013, 10:01 PM
car has 200K km. as Nissans are new to me I thought it might be a known issue

NP99
20th September 2013, 10:22 PM
Radius arm bushes, body mounts, engine mounts, uni joints.......all detective work mate.

Fairlane
20th September 2013, 10:50 PM
yep just looking for a starting point!

Clunk
20th September 2013, 11:04 PM