PDA

View Full Version : What's better, Mitre Saw, Compound Mitre Saw, Slide Compound Saw or Table Saw

NissanGQ4.2
3rd August 2013, 02:35 PM
Hi guys and girls

I know a few of you guys are builders / tradesmen so can anyone tell me what is better 2 buy, Mitre Saw, Compound Mitre Saw, Slide Compound Saw or Table Saw.

Going to build two wall partition soonish and also in the long term would like to redo our back deck

Cheers

Toddie

taslucas
3rd August 2013, 03:06 PM
I would say a compound saw would suit your purposes the best Todd.

BigRAWesty
3rd August 2013, 03:12 PM
Yep compound saw.

Kallen Westbrook
Owner of
Westy's Accessories (http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php?15134-Westy-s-Accessories.-A-small-back-yard-builder.)

NissanGQ4.2
3rd August 2013, 03:16 PM
Thanks guys

So no real benefit in getting a slide one?

outback
3rd August 2013, 03:23 PM
Hum!!! Seriously I would go for the slide compound saw.
As a furniture builder I would be stuck with a basic compound saw, they are just not that versatile.

outback
3rd August 2013, 03:26 PM
Thanks guys

There is. When you cut the timber the slide helps with a cleaner cut and add to its reach. Also make sure the blade is not small. Need at least an 8" blade for what you suggest. The small blades are nice but they have limits.

NissanGQ4.2
3rd August 2013, 03:28 PM
As a furniture builder I would be stuck with a basic compound saw, they are just not that versatile.

Any brands to stay away from outback, I was looking at either Bosch or Makita.

Its not something that is going 2 be used everyday so I know a cheaper brand will probably still do the job, but I wouldn't mind doing some photo frames and other woodworking later on so also want it to last a while

Cheers

Todd

taslucas
3rd August 2013, 03:34 PM
Thanks guys

Yeah sorry I only read one compound saw. Yeah definitely go the sliding compound (that's what I had un mind when I said compound).

You cant go wrong with Makita

taslucas