PDA

View Full Version : What is a reasonable warm up time for my RD28? And turbo timers? (Rookie)

Mattonpatrol
14th July 2013, 12:48 PM
This may seem like a real silly question to most but this is my first time owning a turbo patrol, & herd they need a good warm up... just wondering what is a reasonable warm up time for it? especially in the cold mornings and even just an average day? or what are some signs that the truck will make when warm etc? Im also looking into getting a turbo timer for her, im from Sydney area, and if anyone has some suggestions a somewhere to get one at a decent price... hit me up!?

Keep it dark, Keep it real

threedogs
14th July 2013, 12:55 PM
My first TD too I just start check all is good put on belt , then drive easy until temps rise to normal,
Shutting down I just check EGT guage and shut it off, HWY driving I'll leave it idling for roadside pitstops or similar.
But not a fan of turbo timer, Maybe a petrol Drift car, But you'll never get your diesel hot enough IMO.
Save your money and put it towards a front locker or Snorkel, or what was next on your list

P4trol
14th July 2013, 01:03 PM
I'll start it off.

In general, your 2.8 will sound/feel rough when it is cold. As it warms it will go smoother and the boost less 'laggy'.

My 2.8 doesn't like too much idling - it seems to 'gum up' with too much.

You can use the 'heat' button to the right side of the ignition.

Me personally, I take it easy for the first few kms. Try to keep the revs below 2000rpm then change up (except for 4th, I get up to 80/90kmh. I do have the liberty of taking my time getting up to speed on the highway though.

On the other side, there is a school of thought that turbo timers are a not worth the effort, unless they can be hooked somehow to egt temperatures. I would suggest fitting an egt guage and use that as a guide when you switch off. A search on the forum will let you know what people consider an ok temp to cut the engine at.

ben 4.2td