PDA

View Full Version : What a boyfriend does for his girl

ggGosling
29th December 2010, 03:53 PM
Hi all,

I am new to Patrols full stop. My beautiful girl has a 1997/8 GQ Ti which she has used to tow horse floats, caravan, trailer, etc etc. She dreams of a new 3.0 diseasil (yes I know that is spelt incorrectly). But as the new man in her life I am trying to keep her on the road safe and sound.

I've fixed a few minor issues, like some spot rust in the roof, put on a Hayman Reece tow kit and some new rubber. The biggest challenge was a new radiator but it wasn't as bad as I thought. After paying a good mechanic, lol.

The next trick is how do I fix her side mirror. It vibrates badly and a quick look suggests something has broken inside. I can see that the glass is still in tact but I cant see if there is a broken mount. Does anyone know the trick to removing the glass or the housing without breaking the glass?

I see from the treads here that you are a very helpful lot and I'm looking forward to contributing when I know something of value.

I did learn how to replace the stereo system with a new Pioneer and how to take out the two amps and rewire it. I'll go look and see if anyone needs some help there.
Cheers
GG

nedoleboy
29th December 2010, 04:25 PM
gday gg

im only new here myself and have been searching for info.my mirrors are electric and the glass was loose inside.their is a screw underneath the mirror which i tightened and glass is now reasonably stable(enough to get thru rego b4 coming loose again probably).ned

DX grunt
29th December 2010, 04:26 PM
G'day GG.

Welcome to the forum. What State do you live in? There's plenty of help just around the corner.

Take care out there.

Ross
DX grunt

wildgu6
29th December 2010, 04:45 PM
Welcome to Trol town GG,
Good to see you on board the best forum around, and that it is.
Heaps of handy information,
Great bunch of people with a s*** load of knowledge, experience and adventures to share.