PDA

View Full Version : GQ died now wont start

hershal
18th May 2013, 10:19 PM
So I am slowly getting a little annoyed with this GQ I have just got my hands on. I was driving today down the highway when it decided to lose all power and die. Pulled over and tried to trouble shoot. Seems to have spark. Seems to have fuel. Seems to have air. Soooo I called RAC and they were pretty much no help. So I am just asking if anyone has any quick ideas. I am going to start with the fuel system and then electrical. I am no mechanic but I don't have a problem pulling stuff apart to fix. Any advice would be great. I just want to drive this thing.

hershal
18th May 2013, 10:21 PM
Forgot to mention tb42 engine also on gas

Clunk
18th May 2013, 10:36 PM
Carby or EFi? Does it die on both fuels or just gas, or just petrol? When was the last time the gas system was serviced?
Not that I'm able to help as my knowledge is almost non existent But may assist others with as much info as possible

MCcrappatappalot signing on..............

hershal
18th May 2013, 10:41 PM
Efi. Both on gas and fuel. Had an issue a week ago when I went through a puddle and it died. But I pulled the intake apart and it seemed to go again. Like yourself my knowledge is little. Thanks again for your help. No idea on the gas. Picked this up a week ago. I'll more than likely have to get it to a good mechanic.

Davesgu
18th May 2013, 11:10 PM
Hi mate, just wondering, does it just cut out and die or does it cough and splutter so to speak then die? And what happens when you re start it? Does it fire straight up or churn for a while the fire?

Parksy
18th May 2013, 11:20 PM
Have heard of people having dramas with their electronic distributors on the tb42e when going through puddles. I'd be pulling that apart and making sure everything is clean and dry.

Alitis007
18th May 2013, 11:23 PM