PDA

View Full Version : advice buying a second hand patrol

robwa
28th April 2013, 10:18 PM
hey guys, im brand new to the 4wd business. i am looking to buy a patrol in the coming months and am starting to do my research.

Im looking to spend 12k-15K and am just looking for some advice on models etc. would i be better getting a modified older model or a less modified newer model...

ive been reading up about the 3.0 ltr grenade engine and how to overcome it.

thanks.

gardy
29th April 2013, 07:36 AM
gidday robwa i recently bought my first patrol. i too had a budget like yours. i bought a 2001 gu 3.0 with 255,000k 1 owner full service history some mods but nothing major.i have done 10k since. change oil every 5k get around 12=13 l/100km not towing and around 14l/100km towing 1.5 t camper. we are very happy with ours, but always look for good service history which ever way you go.

P4trol
29th April 2013, 08:09 AM
(generic advice)

Just remember when people decide to sell, they often neglect servicing and small things: fuel additives, regular driving etc. This means it may not drive as well on the test drive, or cost a little to rectify after purchase.

Another point :

Car with oil all over engine:

(just say you are the seller)

Buyer: needs a rebuild and respray

(just say buyer is now selling same car, same condition)

'just needs a clean'

robwa
29th April 2013, 08:53 PM
gidday robwa i recently bought my first patrol. i too had a budget like yours. i bought a 2001 gu 3.0 with 255,000k 1 owner full service history some mods but nothing major.i have done 10k since. change oil every 5k get around 12=13 l/100km not towing and around 14l/100km towing 1.5 t camper. we are very happy with ours, but always look for good service history which ever way you go.

were you concerned with the whole grenade engine when you were buying ?

Ben-e-boy
29th April 2013, 10:13 PM
It's like buying any vehicle.
Check the oil.
Check the engine for leaks.