PDA

View Full Version : Ute wags it's tail over bumps

surrender
6th April 2013, 10:05 PM
Gday everyone,

Got a quick question that I cannot figure out myself. I have a 1990 GQ ute, big lift with no sway bars and a rear 4 link. I do understand that a sway bar will stop the body roll but this feels like a different issue. When I hit any sort of bump in the road, be it a pothole or even just a crease in the concrete, the back of the truck wobbles around like you are sitting on jelly, slightly side to side and sometimes bad enough that I need to correct the steering.

A mate driving behind me also noticed it one day so it must be a decent wobble, it's basically like the car is wagging it's tail while bouncing around. I am not a mechanic and thought there would be somebody here that could help me out. Am thinking I should replace all the bushings in the 4 link and see if it stiffens up, I know a sway bar would help, but my issue is not with body roll while cornering, but with this weird jelly rear end whenever I hit a bump. Anybody with any ideas or experience with something like this?

Cheers, Sam.

Dominator
6th April 2013, 10:10 PM
You could try replacing the bushes in your arms but it is also a possibility that the 4 link is not set up correctly and your getting lateral movement as a 4 link does not have a panhard to limit side to side movement and relies on the correct geometry.

surrender
6th April 2013, 10:28 PM
Yeah that thought came to mind also, the bushes in the arms do look pretty flogged though, I am hoping that is where the lateral play is coming from otherwise it sounds like it could get expensive fast. I think I will stick to my plan of all new bushes and then take it from there, won't hurt replacing them all anyway. Cheers Dominator

growler2058
6th April 2013, 10:33 PM
Dunno a lot about a four link but can a pan hard be added? Big gutsy lump of steel should stop anything!

surrender
6th April 2013, 10:54 PM