PDA

View Full Version : Map and Compass

NP99
24th March 2013, 01:38 AM
Just wondering what the skill set is with paper map and compass. I've been doing it for over 30 years and often run into hunters and 4wd's who are not confident or lack the skill set.

It should be something we all can do when outdoors.

Bulbous
24th March 2013, 03:09 AM
It's one of those things that once learnt is never forgotten, but I wonder if anyone is learning now since GPS is just so easy and convenient.
My Galaxy Note 2 with Orux Maps can give my Garmin GPS (Oregon) a run for it's money on performance.

NP99
24th March 2013, 02:57 PM
At least 4 of us won't get lost when we revert back to paper :)

NissanGQ4.2
24th March 2013, 03:12 PM
I don't no my left from right, don't know north from south, east from west and if my GPS ever died I walk around in circles till I ran out of beer then I would just curl up in a ball an die. I'm amazed that I even make it to and from work everyday without my gps, 3 roads I have to travel on and all of 5 mins driving!!!!!!.............Sad but true

megatexture
24th March 2013, 03:23 PM
I've only done what I learnt in P.E at school and self taught the rest but I would trust my life with what I know but prefer the ease of electronic mapping

lorrieandjas
24th March 2013, 05:03 PM
I learnt the lost art of navigation flying planes and sailing offshore. To be honest depending on what/where you are navigating they are all very different in practice even though the theory is the same. One of the biggest mistakes I see often in navs is that they forget to sanity check things. For example - if you think you are heading in a certain direction - roughly where should the sun be? Are you really heading in the right direction?

Jas

NissanGQ4.2
24th March 2013, 05:13 PM
if you think you are heading in a certain direction - roughly where should the sun be? Are you really heading in the right direction?