PDA

View Full Version : Gq patrol driving me insane - Ping

Dales300exc
12th March 2013, 07:31 PM
Hey everyone, I have a 97 4.2EFI patrol. I still haven't had it tuned on gas (runs well, slow, uses a lot of fuel, but don't they all) because I'm yet to find a tuner that seems to have any idea and a dyno.

Now my problem is, other than standard crappy fuel economy, is when I run on petrol, it pings, its been hot lately so intake temps will be up and adding to the problem, but I can't for the life of me find any info as to why it's doing it. I'm a mechanic by trade, have been chasing the problem on and off for a long time now, as such, I really can't run on petrol.

I know I should just put it on a dyno and get them to have a play, but I get satisfaction from solving my own problems. Plus its a pain getting my car to places.

Now I know, everyone will say use 98, but no, I'm running standard 10 degrees static timing set with the aac unplugged as its meant to be so I don't see any reason why I should have to run 98. I am running a colder gas plug BPR6E, instead of the warmer BPR5E stock plug, so that should contribute in no way to detonation or pre-ignition.

Its done about 250,000, and 100,000k of that was with us. It was straight petrol, then converted to gas a while after we got it. Cracked a head, replaced with genuine nissan head, hardened valves for the gas. It had a leaking aftermarket head gasket 5,000k ago, so I replaced it with a genuine gasket, new head bolts, head checked again just to be sure.

It has a 3 core brass/copper radiator, extractors, 2.5 inch exhaust which admittedly needs replacing but again, is not the cause of the problem.

I put the plugs in when I replaced the head gasket, the leads aren't old, the rotor cap and button are good air filter is clean, valve clearance is right.

I had the amplifying head phones from work on it today, definite ping on petrol and when switched over to gas, ping gone.