PDA

View Full Version : Windows 8 ?

04OFF
6th March 2013, 08:28 AM
I need to get a new netbook, the one im looking at is running windows 8,

Anyone using Windows 8 ? ,what do you think, have they gone forwards from 7, or backwards ?

thanks in advance

healy
6th March 2013, 08:43 AM
I personally don't know but have heard from others windows 8 is no good I'm happy with 7

Cuppa
6th March 2013, 08:50 AM
My last Windows machine was a 386 desktop running Windows98! Changed to a Mac & dislike Windows greatly. Wife's laptop has Windows7 professional on it, so I know I still dislike it.
This is a roundabout way of saying I am not a Windows expert .......BUT ...... I do know a few (Windows experts) & the word is that Windows 8 is best avoided, stick with 7.

Cuppa

Maxhead
6th March 2013, 09:45 AM
I think win8 might be ok for a phone or tablet but I find it annoying on a lappy.

Stick to win7 imo

.........on the move

King_ady1
6th March 2013, 09:50 AM
Windows 8 is designed for touch screen style devices and works wonderful at it. So any tablets or touch phones is alright. But and laptops or desktop pc's won't function to full capability.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

04OFF
6th March 2013, 10:06 AM
Windows 8 is designed for touch screen style devices and works wonderful at it. So any tablets or touch phones is alright. But and laptops or desktop pc's won't function to full capability.

It is a touch screen netbook, and great value compared to my other options suiting my requirements.

rkinsey
6th March 2013, 10:43 AM
Ah... the familiar sound when Microsoft brings a change to one of their operating systems..... (If only I had a dollar for every time this came up....)