PDA

View Full Version : 2007 GU Running Hot

andrewh
26th February 2013, 10:49 PM
Hi

Would be interested in some opinions please

Just picked up a 2007 GU on the weekend and drove it back to Perth from Busselton with no dramas.

Took it out to work today with a trailer on the back (about a tonne) and in the middle of the day (37 deg) it got real hot real quick - it shut off the air con and I had to drive real easy to get home.

The radiator cap was stuffed so I replaced that, but it obviously wasn't the source of the problem.

It stays cool at idle (thermo is working and seems to be ok) but gets hot under load.

I am guessing these are classic symptoms of a blocked radiator? The coolant looked fresh and it wasn't losing any. It didn't 'boil' as I backed off before it got serious.

I'm new to GUs so would be interested to hear some wisdom from those who have had similar problems

Cheers

MEGOMONSTER
27th February 2013, 05:00 AM
There are plenty of threads regarding this problem, use the search bar to find them.
By the sounds of it you may have "Goats Syndrome" where the mixture of two different coolants has created a glug type substance in the radiator and blocking some fins.

threedogs
27th February 2013, 05:44 AM
Cooling systems aren't complex. radiator, thermostat and waterpump.
Is power still good??only use OE thermostat.
07 what ???? diesel or Petrol ????
Find Goats thread on over heating 2010

gaddy
27th February 2013, 07:30 AM
Gidday giveit a good external clean as well inbetween the fins as well

Gaddy

Morton
27th February 2013, 07:32 AM