PDA

View Full Version : GU stuck in low range

Gabe
26th February 2013, 07:30 PM
I went for a 4by today and when it was time to get back on the road I couldn't seem to get it out of 4 low, it just kept crunching when I was trying to take it out, I ended up driving it to a side road and turned the car off and let it sit for a minute and took it out while the car was off and when I started the car and drove it again it was back to normal, anyone else had this problem before that can help me out as to what to look at cos i'm still pretty new to this, cheers

threedogs
26th February 2013, 07:34 PM
Drive backwards and unwind it

Gabe
26th February 2013, 07:44 PM
Tried that a few times and didn't do anything....

megatexture
26th February 2013, 07:47 PM
put it in neutral and then go 2h then reverse a bit, sometimes a sharp stab on the accelerator can help

dont know about manuals but are you pushing down on the stick?

Sir Roofy
26th February 2013, 07:53 PM
where you in auto lock or manual if you take it out of manual first it will come out easy
if not back up a tad that should do it and push the stumpy stick down as well

Gabe
26th February 2013, 08:34 PM
It's an automatic and was in auto lock, was doing everything you guys have suggested and did nothing, would it be worth checking the oil?

Alitis007
26th February 2013, 08:58 PM
Check the transfer case oil level and have a look at the transfer case gear linkage to see for signs of wear

Gabe
26th February 2013, 10:20 PM
Cheers, i'll have a look tomorrow after work

happygu
26th February 2013, 11:14 PM
If you leave in 4WD and do tight turns on a hard surface, you will get transmission wind up...that is the only time I have ever had difficulty moving the short gear lever.....

Mic

megatexture
26th February 2013, 11:21 PM
so you dont have to drive it on the road tomorrow?

Gabe
27th February 2013, 07:19 PM