PDA

View Full Version : I want to turbo my N/A td42

jwints
29th January 2013, 01:56 PM
Hey im new to 4wd scene, have been loving the fourwheel driving but the 4.2 diesel N/A is sluggish and want to put a turbo on it

What do i need to do for pickups and return lines etc.

What sort of sized turbos work well? gt28/71? gt30/64? gt35/40? or anything around there

where to source manifolds ?

Any helps and tips would be much appreciated :)

MudRunnerTD
29th January 2013, 02:21 PM
G'day mate,

Welcome to teh forum, We ask all new members to head over to the introduction section and post an intro thread. Say G'day mate, you will get a warm welcome and people will be happy to help you out from then.

When you walk into a room you generally say G'day so same goes here. ;)

In the red menu bar at the top there is a "Search" function. there are quite a few Turbo DIY threads for you to have a read of. even in this same section you will find a heap of info to help you.

Go and do an intro, as the afternoon rolls on a few of the boys will be on and you will get all the help you need mate.

Cheers MR

AB
29th January 2013, 02:23 PM
Welcome to the forum mate, don't forget to put up an intro about yourself in the introductions section.

In relation to your question It's a fairly easy DIY job mate...

Have a good read of this thread below all the way through it for a DIY explanation of how I did mine. I found the complete manifold and turbo off Ebay from someone upgrading the turbo on their TD42T GU Patrol.

http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php?4973-Fitting-a-genuine-Nissan-turbo-to-a-N-A-TD42&highlight=td42+turbo

nissannewby
29th January 2013, 03:20 PM
All those turbos you have stated are to big for why you want to do. A Td05 turbo or a 2860 would be a good place to start.

happygu
29th January 2013, 05:27 PM