PDA

View Full Version : We all have to start somewhere

GUmike
27th January 2013, 02:26 AM
I recently brought my first 4x4, a lovely 2005 GU 3.0st-l automatic which I wanted to use to tow a 2 berth caravan around to explore a bit more of this wonderful country. Anyway, I thought I'd be a good boy and look at the manual to get a little wiser on how to use said patrol for towing. Imagine my confusion when I read "Use the 4L position when starting out....."(under trailer towing) and then later read " to shift transfer case from 4L to 4H Stop the vehicle"....So as a complete newby who was going out to try out his new towing machine complete with said caravan in a few hours What gear do I use to get it all moving? I know you can change from 2H to 4H on the move so have I missed something (Sorry it's a bit long). Any helpful suggestions please

GarryMartin
27th January 2013, 02:33 AM
Sounds like some sort of puzzle! ;-)

Welcome to the forum GUmike. I'm not a 4x4 expert so can't provide you with advice, but trust me when I saw there are *hundreds* of people rushing this way right now to welcome you to the forum and provide qualified answers to all your questions.

fracster
27th January 2013, 02:43 AM
4 low is only for very slippy/difficult terrain.

If your setting off on tarmac, set off in 2 high as per normal.

Clunk
27th January 2013, 03:20 AM
Gday Mike and welcome aboard mate.......... unfortunately I don't have a gu but I do have a GQ auto so am pretty sure its the same operation to go into 4L, if I'm wrong someone will no doubt correct me....... in order to get into 4L, firstly you need to be at a complete stop. Drop your gear Leaver into neutral, then move your little stubby (4wd) Leaver to 4h (if not already done so), push down on the Leaver and pull it back into 4L and away you go. To move from 4l to 4h, again you need to be stopped and gear in neutral.......... I really can't see how its possible to do this on the move whilst towing.