PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide TD42 or LS1?

Reddave
8th December 2012, 04:01 PM
My GU series 3 has a ZD30 auto, I didn't buy it for the engine!!!

I bought it because it was auto, yep another lazy driver!!

Over the next 12 months I will be fitting reduction gears to the transfer and starting to acquire bits to start a conversion.

But which motor, TD42 or LS1?

Pros of a td42:
It's diesel, easy to get bits for and easy to maintain
Cons of a td42:
Unless I can win tatts, would have to change to manual

Pros of a ls1:
More than enough power, can keep the auto, easy to get bits for
Cons of a ls1:
It's petrol

A few questions:
Will a ls1 still give me decent economy for long distance touring?
How is it possible to keep my auto but still have a td42?

Budget at this stage is around $10k, and will be doing MOST of the work myself, have access to a workshop and am a mechanic by trade.

What would you choose and why?

The car is currently set up as a tourer, and take every opportunity to put the camper on the back and disappear for a weekend.
I don't really want a comp truck, just something that is more reliable than a zd30, something I can just drive and not have that grenade factor in the back of my mind.

Yendor
8th December 2012, 04:10 PM
Have a chat with Killa Kustom Kables, I believe they can modify your engine harness so you can run the TD42 engine with the ZD30 auto.

threedogs
8th December 2012, 04:14 PM
Been down the V8 chev conversion road 18/100 hwy never again, for a daily driver to do long outback trips no brainer T/D 4.2 with auto bolted to the back.

Mind you 350 chev was fun for 18yrs .

Reddave
8th December 2012, 04:17 PM
Have a chat with Killa Kustom Kables, I believe they can modify your engine harness so you can run the TD42 engine with the ZD30 auto.

Thanks mate, they do both looms

Td42 to zd30 and ls1 to zd30

nissannewby
8th December 2012, 04:36 PM