PDA

View Full Version : My front Swivel hub assembly HELP!

patchy
30th November 2012, 03:08 PM
Hi everyone, I am currently replacing all seals and bearing on both my front wheels. I have a 1989 safari GQ but it i think i have a GU setup. I am missing the stepped washer sitting on the valve in the 6th picture down in this old thread(http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php?2067-How-do-i-change-a-gu-cv&highlight=join‏). This is how my hub looks.I cannot pick one up this washer anywhere. Would it be ok to reassemle without it? any ideas on where to get one? I am a novice and jumpoed straight into the deep end!

nissannewby
30th November 2012, 03:28 PM
It's not still attached to the hub drive gear by chance is it?

MudRunnerTD
30th November 2012, 03:47 PM
That is commonly known as "Egg Ring".

Have another look at that thread, see the first pic. Do you have manual Locking hubs like that first pic or big black Auto Locking hubs with "Auto" and "Lock" on it? If you have the Auto hubs then you wont have the Egg Ring?

MudRunnerTD
30th November 2012, 03:49 PM
Have a look at this drawing

http://nissanpatrol.com.au/images/Stripping%20the%20GQ/GQ%20gauges%20and%20stuff/Screenshot2011-08-14at103139AM.png

patchy
30th November 2012, 05:31 PM
Thanks for the replies guys. So this is the order in which everything came off. I do have manual hubs, its not still attached to the drive gear and in the diagram i can see the piece i am missing on the 'manual locking hub assembly' part of the diagram. I am in Broome and cannot get anything here. Have checked all mechanics, breakers yards, and fabricators but nothing. The question is will it be ok without it.

Thanks for the help

MudRunnerTD
30th November 2012, 06:32 PM
You should be able to get one from a wrecker over in the east or even straight from Nissan now you know what it is.