PDA

View Full Version : Fridge slide draws

optic
2nd October 2012, 05:55 PM
In the end i got the fridge slide sorted off ebay.
When i installed it i just stood back and said no way am i going to give up that space in the Patrol.
Put the grey matter to work over a few days, then decided to install an under fridge storage system.
It did take a bit of working out but its has all worked out great.
These pics are not the finished product. ( But it will you an idea of how to use lost space.)
Ill show that later on when i get the new fridge slide handle sorted.
The handle takes up to much room to work, i will not give up any room that i have a use for.
What is not shown as yet is the water storage that will be between the slide and the window.
A SS tank, Why SS, i had a sheet given to me.
This will also have a water height gauge built into it.
This has been a great project, and also a great learning curve in many ways.
Im not a builder im an engineer so i measure everything with a vernier and i find it easy for me to work that way. This is when you find out just how bad some things are like draw slides out by 2mm on the center line. Puts 1 slide out of line by 2mm>?
Its all made from form ply 17mm, 1 bit is rubbish of so called form ply. All Bunnings stuff.
What a nightmare it is to use it, so use the good stuff. $76.00 a sheet. It is consistent.
The cheap stuff varies up to 4mm in thickness at the joins in the sheets of the ply in overlap joints.
I hope this may help others wanting to make the best use of space in their Patrol.
Sorry cant get the pics to upload.

threedogs
2nd October 2012, 06:30 PM
Great looking setup. Storage always a problems on 4x4 s. Have a look at installing a false roof for storing light stuff etc, plenty of spare bolt holes from the hand grips.
I'm personally not a big fan of storage systems mainly cause they weigh 80 odd kg empty. But its the only option ATM. In the near future I'm going to gut the big door and recess