PDA

View Full Version : Gq front wheel bearings

jamied
27th September 2012, 09:33 AM
After a drive in the new patrol the other day I did a few checks and the front wheel bearings seemed hot to touch. Does this suggest the bearing are due to be replaced? I've never done it before so any advice or instructions would be appreciated. Cheers

threedogs
27th September 2012, 10:38 AM
Hubs normally get hot/warm. best if you jack one wheel up, grab top and bottom of tyre and see if you can feel any play. top and bottom for bearings
If there is play check the other side. change both at the same time.

Wine_maker
27th September 2012, 01:41 PM
If hubs are very hot, it shows that they not serviced long time. May be you should to add oil and make some service works?

Big Tuna
28th September 2012, 08:18 AM
My hubs got pretty warm last weekend on a big trek. Opened them up and the grease was all thin, black and broken down, the bearings seemed ok but I replaced them anyhow and repacked them with marine grease along with the hubs. It's not a hard or expensive job and is well worth doing. Last time I neglected this it costed me just over a grand for new stub axles and towing.. Obviously it wasn't a patrol lol

threedogs
28th September 2012, 08:54 AM
Remember guys the rotor will make the hubs very hot if you have been driving/braking hard.

stets
28th September 2012, 09:16 AM
Patrols have a nasty habit if the brake caliper seizing slightly on. A bit of rust or crap caught on the slide rails is the reason. Having your brakes stuck on slightly will make your hub almost too hot to touch

Tap,tap,tapping in your head

jamied
28th September 2012, 09:29 AM
Thanks for the advice. I guess it's worth replacing them then. Even if thats not actually whats causing the heat it can't hurt. Is there anything I can do to stop crap getting in and causing the caliper to stick on? What part is the slide rails? I'll check that out while the wheels off. Thanks again

mudnut
11th October 2012, 10:51 AM