PDA

View Full Version : New member

zprof46
9th September 2012, 04:01 AM
Hi all,
I am Dan Hall. I live in USA--Kansas.
I am a college professor teaching Automotive Technology.
I became interested in the Nissan Patrol this summer while teaching Engine Rebuilding/Repair.
One of my students was from Saudi Arabia. I was working out some final challenges on race car.
It is a 75 Datsun 280Z. I had increased C/R to 14:1 & was having difficulty getting head gaskets to seal. He knew I was a Nissan fanatic & started telling me about a popular vehicle in Saudi Arabia.
The Nissan Patrol. He said it was a 4.8L inline 6 cylinder that was able to keep up with some of the exotic sports they have over there. He showed me a couple of U-Tube videos. I was very impressed.
Wheels started rolling upstairs. My Z Car is designed for road racing. The events we go to are Porche & BMW club drive & tune type of adventures for now. We often have Corvettes & Porches on the track at the same time. I have this personal grudge against the arrogant Corvette & BMW guys.
It is my goal to give them a humbling experience on the track with my little Z-Car & have it look very stock under the hood. I guesstimate with my recent modifications to the engine I might be outputing 280 -300 HP with comparable torque. The 4.8L is not available in the US as far as I know. I need many questions answered relative to getting one here & will it fit comfortably my Z Car.
Anyones thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks--Dan Hall

growler2058
9th September 2012, 05:56 AM
G'day mate welcome aboard gotta friendly mob here fulla great info and advice
Still a bit before 05:00 here mate but hopefully someone will have some ideas for ya

Tap tap drip drip

Maxhead
9th September 2012, 06:46 AM
G'day and welcome to the forum mate

threedogs
9th September 2012, 06:49 AM
Hi and welcome, like your idea, plenty of great people on this forum, Enjoy
will be watching for any results
What about the 3.8 chev V6 with a supercharger??