PDA

View Full Version : Gidday

southerncross
20th August 2012, 04:26 AM
Newbie from Cairns in FNQ, grew up in the N.T in Tojo's when it was still legal to take a dump without having to wrap it up and take it home with you when you went camping. Wanting to buy a an 04-06 GU 4.2 Diesel Wagon with low Km's without having to apply liberal amounts of vaseline to my exhaust in the process.

Have done a fair bit of reading and searching here and elsewhere and have come to the conclusion that some of the totally outlandish prices for a reliable vehicle can be had far cheaper with a conversion. I mean I've seen some dreamers asking 67 K down to the seemingly more moderate 45-8 k for sub 200 km vehicles with varying amounts of modifications but all based on the td42 motor.

I've seen some older quotes here for td42 crate motors for less than 10k and current ebay exchanges for recon long motors for less from reputable sellers. I'm no mechanic by any means but figure if I'm out in the booonies. I'd much rather something I can try and fix under the hood rather than something that needs a NASA technician flown in to diagnose "if" an older well maintained motor was to be problematic compared to the so called advantages of computerised and electronic this that and the other we are sold as a benefit now days.

So my question is, spend 40+ K on a so called low KM (it's been in the garage for the last 7-9 yrs) GU 4.2 model with some mods or buy a an earlier model for a moderately lower price with the same mods that has had some tough love with large KM and replace the engine?

OR get a 04-06 3 litre GU and do a conversion to a new 4.2 crate engine? I'm not a mechanic and would have the work done thru a shop. 15-16 k for a 3 litre and 20K for the conversion would still give me a decent unit for under 40 k would it not ?