PDA

View Full Version : Port Hedland new owner. The BEAST.

BRTSyndrome
17th August 2012, 03:51 PM
Hi folk's My name is Azza, I'm an apprentice mechanic at BHP in Port Hedland. Just recently aqcuired a GQ wagon with TB42 5 speed from me old man. She was a bit of a slugger, missing radius arm bushes on the rear ends and sway bar link bushes. busted arse seatbelt in the front and No power to the headlights what so ever.

SO FAR:
Replaced the radius bush rear rubber's left the offset caster one in the front. (Too hard to get right)

Replaced swaybar links with GU items and rubbers. Had to drill out the swaybar ends to accomodate.

Rear sway bar bushes are next in the firing line.

Put the spot's on mock-up till I get to the lights going.

Replaced the seatbelts with working retractors x2 in front. Installed UHF/CB yet to purchase antenna
for it.

Pulling stereo out for old one from the missus's car. Didn't think there was four screw's holding the trim in till two snapped. ( dammit.)

That is all so far. You mob seem to have a great helpful and informative community here. I am impressed and awed by all your good work on your vehicles. Much inspiration there.

Have a great time out there folk's don't get to stuck without your gear. (Like I do.)

I also have caught BRT syndrome or BIG RED TRUCK syndrome. lololol.

Am so going to upgrade the exhaust to be a bit loder hopefully sometime down the track
and I want to custom something like a three or four inch ally snorkel for that little bit of extra shinyness. maybe. see how we go just getting it roadworthy first.

White Elephant
17th August 2012, 03:56 PM
G'day and welcome to the forum mate. Enjoy your stay!

growler2058
17th August 2012, 03:58 PM
Gday mate welcome aboard gotta friendly mob here fulla great info and advice

BRTSyndrome
17th August 2012, 03:58 PM
I'm sure I will plenty of fishing to be done on my holidays. just need to remember to take the shovel this time.
Cheers. Do you really remember everything?