PDA

View Full Version : Compressor and electrics question for those that know??

Bloodyaussie
13th August 2012, 07:07 PM
I have a 1HP compressor and wanted to run it off an inverter.

Now here is the problem, it is a 2500watt with 5000peak inverter and the compressor is a 1HP with an 8lt tank now when the battery isolator switches over between batteries the inverter does not cope??

It makes a loud beeping sound and the compressor stops.

When it is running off the battery while the engine is on it works perfect until you hear the isolator click over to the other battery then it fails??

Ideas or help would be great, if this fails I will take the tank off and run it with my TJM compressor.

Big_Roy
13th August 2012, 08:55 PM
Hey mate, I am no expert but it sounds like your 2nd battery might be on its way out. The reason I say this is most inverters have a low volt cut off which is the beeping sound you hear when the isolator switches over to the 2nd battery and stops supplying power to the compressor.
I would be checking your 2nd battery with a multimeter and see what it reads. A 1hp motor is equivalant to 750w so even when it kicks in your inverter should have more then enough power to run it.
Hope this helps, any experts out there please correct me if I am wrong.
Cheers.

MudRunnerTD
13th August 2012, 09:30 PM
That Is a pretty big load mate.

Yendor will be your man I reckon,

You could may e run a link wire between the two batteries with an isolator switch to hot wire and bypass the Dual battery setup and use them in a parallel bank. Keep the engine running but I'd be probably be rethinking the air setup

Bloodyaussie
13th August 2012, 09:31 PM
I ran it on both batteries and also 2 top batteries I have in the garage that are new.

The ones in the garage barely ran it.

It was only when the car was running no matter which way I hooked them up as soon as the isolator flicked over it stalled?????

Yendor
13th August 2012, 10:06 PM