PDA

View Full Version : Tyre store con? Non-round wheels?

Patrolee
8th August 2012, 11:34 PM
This sounds like an attempted con, but I would like your views. I recently took my Patrol in to my regular tyre store to get a wheel balance – had a mild shudder at 90km/hr. After about an hour, my car was returned and I was told that my 4 wheels were no longer round and I should consider replacing them all. What the???? I asked for more info and was told that this happens to Patrols. (Really?) I pointed out that I found it hard to believe, given that these are the original wheels (4.2TD Oct 2000) and the vehicle is used for towing , not 4WDing and I have been bringing the vehicle to that same shop for the 9 years I have owned the Patrol and have never been told about any ‘non-round’ wheels (and now I have 4!). I said that I would be getting independent advice before making any decision. Is this a con? Also sus, because I was the last person in the shop late on a weekday afternoon. Incidentally, the wheel balance was no help – now shudder starts at 85kmh and ends at 95kmh. I plan to go back, but would like to hear your thoughts first.

Thanks, Patrolee.

nissannewby
8th August 2012, 11:38 PM
Sounds like it. I have given some wheels a hard time and they still balance and rool fine. As for your shudder i would be looking elsewhere wheel bearings, brakes, bushes etc.

megatexture
8th August 2012, 11:53 PM
they sound like idiots to me, unless you have bias-ply tyres or drive around locking up your brakes you wont get flat spots next they will want to charge you for a spare wheel alignment !

Silver
9th August 2012, 12:47 AM
when I had an MQ, I also had a factory MQ wagon manual. It stated the permisible vertical and lateral run-out for split rims, and I think also for safety well rims (non splitties).