PDA

View Full Version : help for newbies setting up a patrol?

Rhyso
13th June 2012, 08:21 PM
hey guys im new to 4by's and was just wandering is there a post or cld someone help build a post for people new to 4by's on how to set it up there patro lfor bassic offroad use?
being new and shopping for a patrol id love to know what my next steps would b to make it reasonable offroad
i know of basic things like suspension lift, body lift, bigger tyres and type, plus lockers etc.
but i wouldnt have a clue wat to do first or how high to go and so on
now i know its different for every application and probably model but a rough idea for a bigginer would b ausom
hopefuly someome can help

growler2058
13th June 2012, 08:32 PM
If keeping it simple sweet id go 33" muddies (Mickey thompson MTZ my choice) 2" lift then a front auto LoKKa. Done! (rims to suit also)

Rhyso
13th June 2012, 08:38 PM
yer wel i guess as most newbies geting into 4wd's il start simple n build up from there haha
pretty much wat i figured a little bit more clearance n more grip shld do it ;)

Finly Owner
13th June 2012, 09:27 PM
I believe the first expense for all beginners in a decent set up, would be a decent recovery kit including front and rear recovery points.

Tim

growler2058
13th June 2012, 09:36 PM
yer wel i guess as most newbies geting into 4wd's il start simple n build up from there haha
pretty much wat i figured a little bit more clearance n more grip shld do it ;)

A patrol with 2" and a decent set of rubber is a winner straight away for touring/4wd Australia wide. You really only need more if ya going to "play"

Tapp tillya Crap

DX grunt
13th June 2012, 10:09 PM
Hey Rhyso

You're gunna get lotsa advice and you need to weigh up your wants versus needs - then prioritize.

Keep it legal and don't live in fear of a canary on the windscreen.

Get a REVS check and roadworthy - before you open your mouth, give a handshake, sign any paperwork or hand over any money.