PDA

View Full Version : Do you like your job?

Brendan56
2nd June 2012, 06:27 PM
As the title says, do you like your job?
I know nobody wants to go to work every day, and you have the occasional real bad day.
But are people here happy with their career choices?
I'm a water blaster operator out at a zinc refinery, and i've only been there for a year, and i'll tell you what, I'm bloody sick of it, 4:30 start tomorrow morning, 6:30 finish, because they can't organise correctly, On the job hunt!
Cheers,
Brendan.

macca86
2nd June 2012, 06:36 PM
I enjoy being a boilermaker but really dislike plastic fabrication and welding that I do now I shall be job hunting after my wedding this month

Brendan56
2nd June 2012, 06:39 PM
I've started 2 apprenticeships now, mechanic, and cabinetmaker, but i left mechanic when i was 16, cause i'm an idiot. and i tried cabinetmaking, disliked the work, and found out how much the tradies were getting (18 an hour) and left that. Gah.

nissannewby
2nd June 2012, 06:41 PM
Yeah im a diesel fitter it pays the bills and is quite interesting work at times and working in the mines the money is quite good.

macca86
2nd June 2012, 06:42 PM
wow I got more than that as a mature apprentice in brisbane 28 to 30 is the going rate for a boilermaker in town heaps more out bush give it a try I see you're up in townsville Try pacific coast engineering thay are always looking for blokes and may do mature apprenticeships
3rd time lucky

Brendan56
2nd June 2012, 06:48 PM
I'm doubting anybody would take me on as an apprentice after 2 haha, and its also that i'm only 20 and a half so i can get mature age yet :/

macca86
2nd June 2012, 06:54 PM
21 you can that's when I started mine. find something you like and stick it out also check what the wages are too! a mate did the same thing then complained about it and did nothing about it. best of luck out there mate also if you're fit and that try the army up there for apprenticeships

Brendan56
2nd June 2012, 07:00 PM