PDA

View Full Version : Audible Engine Alarm

spektrum
28th May 2012, 03:00 PM
It surprises me that many cars (even modern) don't alert the driver in severe event, apart from a small lamp on the dash. This could easily be missed until too late. On the weekend my engine reported low oil pressure, and I just happened to be looking at the pressure gauge as it dropped from 4kg/cm2 to almost zero. Thankfully an independent test showed the engine was actually producing the correct oil pressure.

Since this low oil pressure scare on the weekend, I started drawing up a cheap audible alarm for severe events, like low oil pressure. It could easily be expanded to include any other of the dash lamps, and eventually engine temp. I've been a bit busy lately, but I hope to post up the designs soon...

Old Wal
15th July 2012, 11:31 PM
G'day spektrum. Just read this post and would be interested in what designs you come up with.I too have wondered about the lack of audible warnings in cars - when I drove trucks they all had gauges & audible warnings to draw your attention to the problem - be it low oil pressure , coolant . air pressure etc. Impossible to ignore due to the volume emitted. On some trucks if problem was engine related you apparently only had 30 sec. to shut engine down or it would do it for you.My brother's landcruiser has some kind of murphy switch that will shut engine down if oil level gets too low. Good idea.

spektrum
16th July 2012, 10:36 AM
Hi Old Wal,

Unfortunately I rolled my Patrol shortly after that post. I had intentions to revisit it later after I finish rebuilding my Patrol. My thoughts were to keep it simple, just a few diodes, relay, and buzzer to trigger on critical event lamps (like the oil lamp), although it would be good to include high engine temp.

Cheers,
Luke

GQ Roll Over Thread (http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forums/showthread.php?12364-GQ-Roll-Over)

threedogs
16th July 2012, 10:43 AM