PDA

View Full Version : Charge Master Dual battery system issues

Lewy
27th May 2012, 05:06 PM
Gday all,

I have a Charge Master Dual battery system in my GU and am having a few issues.. So when I have stopped and turn the motor off the Battery split charge isolator (under the bonnet) stays on - both lights. It does say in the manual that they will be on for about 5min to equalise the 2 battery's but mine stay on for well over 30min and the solenoid gets bloody hot!!! The only way I can shut it down is pull the earth off the battery and it disconnects and goes back to normal.

I took it back to Opposite Lock and they changed the split charge isolator and solenoid it seemed to work normally for a few weeks and has now gone back to its old ways..

So does anyone have the same problem or know why it may be doing this?

Also both batteries fitted are new.

Cheers Lewy

the evil twin
27th May 2012, 05:46 PM
Hmmm... interesting. So, two new batteries, new solenoid and new controller pretty much rules out any of those being faulty.

Now, it is not unusual for a VSR relay to hold in for 30 minutes or more if two good batteries are involved. I have seen them hold in for hours in some cases if the parasitic load on the circuits is low (IE nothing running on the Aux and not too many accessories on the Cranker side).

What is unusual is the Solenoid getting hot. Heat means current flow and lots of it and that doesn't make a lot of sense as there is no where for the current to flow if the Aux battery is charged. It is also unusual in that if there is high current flow the cranker should drop below the cut out voltage pretty darn quick IE seconds to a minute or two at most.

Does either of the batteries drop significantly in voltage when the solenoid is open and they are isolated?
Why did the Opposite Lock change the gear? Did they do it on spec as good customer relations or did the test it and agree there was a fault?

Lewy
27th May 2012, 06:05 PM