PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Perth - 05 Patrol GU Series 4 Auto

Ledge
24th May 2012, 12:19 PM
Hi All,

Ive recently bought a 05 Patrol 3.0l TD, I love it! its my 1st 4wd and ive been going out every weekend on short trips ( Mundaring Powerline Track, Julimar State Forest etc etc ) Been awesome fun, ( im new to Australia since coming from CHCH, NZ as the earthquakes were taking there toll on ones mental health ) 4wding seems to be an awesome way to see the country side, all up close and personal.

Ive been following this forum with much interest and have been looking into all the Mods and i was about to start by blocking the EGR and putting in a Turbo controller and boost gauge to monitor it and then getting the Throttle body and manifold cleaned.

In fact before i joioned this forum i new nothing about cars and now im sure i know more about fixing patrols then some mechanics...

After a month of fun, i finally went into limp mode and now the auto is changing late, OverDrive is being very picky of when it will turn on and gears are a little rough but i will post a new thread as i do some specific questions :)

Glad to part of the forum and look forward to chatting with you, Also very keen once i get my auto trans issue sorted to go out 4wding with some experienced Perth members.

Ps. ill put a photo up once i get around to bolting my rocksliders on :) so its not 100% stock :P

Aquaman
24th May 2012, 06:10 PM
Welcome aboard.

I went to Christchurch a few years ago and thought it was a beautiful spot. I was out on the pier thingy at the beach watching a guy draw huge shapes in the sand. Loved it. A real bummer to hear about all the drama that happened over there.

It must be good to have some solid non shaking ground underneath you for a change. We had a quake here in Newcastle many years ago and they are not nice things to go through.