PDA

View Full Version : Mining Employment

Blownlc
21st May 2012, 07:11 PM
Hi all,

After a lot of though and deliberation I have decided that the only way to fast track my ambitions, is to make a career change. Whether this be temporary or permanent only time will tell.

I'm looking and gaining employment within the mining sector, but with so many different mining companies, locations and mine types, I am unsure where to start. I have looked into a couple of agencies but have been put off by the fact that they want several hundred dollars up front and do not mention anything about actually obtaining positions for clients.

I have a young family and am located in Victoria so I'm looking for something that is FIFO. I'm a mechanical plumber by trade (heating, airconditioning and ventilation) with extensive experience in industrial scale mechanical services as well as managerial experience in the industry.

Basically I'm wondering if any of you fine gentlemen can point me in the right direction of who to contact or where I should be looking?

Many Thanks

Stu

DX grunt
21st May 2012, 07:38 PM
Hey Stu

Google.....mining employment victoria, or WA or NSW, ect........ Should find enough coin to do a few mods. lol

All the best.

Take care out there.

Rossco

Benno7
21st May 2012, 08:05 PM
http://www.riotinto.com/index_careers.asp

Blownlc
21st May 2012, 08:15 PM
Hi Rossco,

This was my first point of call. But I haven't been able to find positions that I am qualified for, or ones that do not require previous mining experience.

I have heard many stories of plumbers, carpenters, etc gaining employment in the mines but can't seem to find out how they have done it.

All the positions I seem to find, require high levels of tertiary education, different trades to my own or extensive experience in the operation of heavy machinery. Non of which I have.

Blownlc
21st May 2012, 08:25 PM
Hi Benno,