PDA

View Full Version : Power / Economy Mods for 4.8 Auto??

oncedisturbed
20th May 2012, 12:20 AM
WAAAASSSSUPPPPP Honkies

Ok been going through here, other forums, net etc trying to work what would be the most beneficial mods to do to increase economy without losing too much on the power side of things

Haven't got a heap of coin available at this stage so like most, the eagle eye is working overtime for bargains etc so am leaning towards the following;
1- Exhaust swap - 2.5 - 3"
2 - power module - know what they do but have no idea what are available for a petrol jobby or if any are available
3 - Turbo - big $$ and will look at later down the track

As most know i am fairly new to whole Patrol world so any further info or better option, feel free to post away to help out a nOOblet :1087:

Clunk
20th May 2012, 12:25 AM
Strip it bare of anything non essential, like all seats (not drivers, that's just daft..... someone gotta drive) cut the roof off, take the doors off, bonnet, fenders............ umm anything else?

oncedisturbed
20th May 2012, 01:00 AM
thought about cutting the roof off as well but don't like getting wet or smacked in the face with bugs lolol

Cheeky bugger lol

Clunk
20th May 2012, 01:20 AM
thought about cutting the roof off as well but don't like getting wet or smacked in the face with bugs lolol

Cheeky bugger lol

Sorry man, couldn't resist lol

Hope someone will be able to give you a much better and more sensible answer

nissannewby
20th May 2012, 11:06 PM
You could look at a mod for the torque converter lock up im not sure if one exists for these boxes but basically the more the torque converter is locked it will be more fuel efficient. Maybe talk to wholesale automatics maybe something along the lines of a manualised valve with a tc lock up switch placed in the cab. As said it might not be doable but an idea none the less.

oncedisturbed
21st May 2012, 09:33 AM