PDA

View Full Version : New GQ owner

Lancec2626
8th April 2012, 09:18 PM
Hi Guys,

I have recently become the proud owner of a 97 GQ. I am new to this and it is purely a weekend warrior and something to give me the ability to pick my daughter up from day care with out getting wet when it rains.

My daily driver is a 450hp 2010 SSV VE ute so this is something a little different.

i have just put some 33 inch STT's and 15inch rims, will do a lift soon.

Any advise on what lift would be great.

Cheers

Lance

Bigrig
8th April 2012, 10:06 PM
G'day mate and welcome aboard - great people, information and laughs to be found on here, so join in to make the most of it!!!

Enjoy!!

Clunk
8th April 2012, 10:10 PM
Gday mate welcome aboard

timbar
8th April 2012, 10:25 PM
Welcome aboard mate

tappa crappin

Dhuck
9th April 2012, 10:54 AM
Welcome to the forum mate.

Maxhead
9th April 2012, 12:05 PM
G'Day and welcome to the forum mate

growler2058
9th April 2012, 02:54 PM
G’day mate welcome aboard, gotta friendly mob here fulla great info and advice

Lancec2626
9th April 2012, 09:01 PM
THanks guys, great response. Looking forward to getting to know you all.

I have just put 33's on with stock suspension. Ill lift it soon. Has any one had any problems with this

Cheers

Lance

bazzad
9th April 2012, 10:02 PM
G'Day Lance,
Your 33's should be fine. As for which lift and how high? There's as many choices as members i reckon. 2 inch is a good place to start,Its easy and it will give those 33s plenty of room to move. I would suggest talking to a couple of suppliers and then go with the one that you think has shown some experience with what you want. Anyone can read a parts book but sometimes it doesn't work as the theory says it should.
One other thing, if you are mainly running around town empty don't get the heavy duty springs just in case you might need them one day.
One of best riding GQs i have been in was running a basic 2inch Dobinson kit and it went real good off road.