OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Rd28 to td42 taco wiring

  1. #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Rd28 to td42 taco wiring

    Hi I have just converted my gu rd28 to td42 and have got everything working fine except the taco. My sensor off the motor has 3 wires red white and black and the Rd loom has black blue and grey. Was wondering which one go to what cheers

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    Patrol God mudnut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    SW Vic.
    Posts
    6,872
    Thanks
    7,729
    Thanked 3,787 Times in 2,372 Posts
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Hello, and welcome to the forum. There are a few threads dealing with this problem, such as this one: http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forum...ght=RD28+Tacho


    http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forum...t=tacho+wiring

    Try the search function.
    Last edited by mudnut; 23rd August 2017 at 02:59 PM.

  4. #3
    Legendary 4bye4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Kingsley WA
    Posts
    4,928
    Thanks
    1,075
    Thanked 2,533 Times in 1,297 Posts
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    G'day mate and welcome to the forum.
    2005 GU IV ST 3.0. Snorkel. Roof rack. Awning. Spots. Welded I/C. Dual batteries & VSR. UHF. Barn door hinge extension. Roof top spot lights. Rear drawers. 2" lift. NADS. EGT and boost gauges. Trans temp and water temp gauges. Provent 200 catch can. Rear ladder


    And crawling on the planet's face, some insects called the human race. Lost in time. And lost in space... and meaning.

  5. #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried everyway possible is there a way you can test to make sure the cam sensor is still working
    Cheers

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenbank QLD
    Posts
    3,505
    Thanks
    561
    Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Where are you trying to connect the TD42 sensor to? The RD crank sensor wiring or the cam sensor wiring that connected to the injector pump?

    From memory the RD wiring should be a Black wire and a White wire, not a Blue wire that sounds more like crank sensor.

    Do you still have the RD ECU fitted?

  7. #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Yendor View Post
    Where are you trying to connect the TD42 sensor to? The RD crank sensor wiring or the cam sensor wiring that connected to the injector pump?

    From memory the RD wiring should be a Black wire and a White wire, not a Blue wire that sounds more like crank sensor.

    Do you still have the RD ECU fitted?
    I've got the exact same problem but from a tb45 to td42 swap, where is the best place to go to get something like this fixed?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Greenbank QLD
    Posts
    3,505
    Thanks
    561
    Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Zoc View Post
    I've got the exact same problem but from a tb45 to td42 swap, where is the best place to go to get something like this fixed?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    John has done this conversion

    http://www.nissanpatrol.com.au/forum...uto-conversion

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Yendor For This Useful Post:

    Zoc (24th August 2017)

  10. #8
    Patrol Guru sooty_10's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Bendigo
    Posts
    887
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 531 Times in 341 Posts
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I have done rd28 to td42 conversion. I tried wiring the td42 tacho sensor through the ecu... didn't work. Tried wiring direct to rd28 tacho, bypassing ecu..... no joy.

    I had a donor car and swapped the complete td42 cluster in, wired the sensor direct to back of tacho, as it is in the td42's.....and...
    success.

    Everything works spot on. I believe the TD tachos use a different signal modulation or something technical than the RD tacho so not compatible with the TD sensor. You could try swapping the RD sensor in if it fits, don't remember trying that?

    Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

  11. #9
    Patrol Freak jff45's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Morayfield, QLD
    Posts
    1,100
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 549 Times in 383 Posts
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Yendor View Post
    Yes, but I see that thread is not worth looking at with the missing images.

    TB45 to TD42 worked for me with a Dakota Digital tacho signal converter. The TD42 signal connects to the Dakota (simple instructions) and the Dakota output connects to the yellow/black that was previously connected to pin #7 on the TB45E ECU. That yellow/black wire is connected to the tacho and, if you have an auto trans, also sends the signal to the TCU.

    The TD42 must have the pickup on the front timing cover, not under the IP. The signal from the TD42 pickup should be ~1.0v AC at idle otherwise the Dakota won't work.
    John

    2001 GUII TI 4500 - Now converted to TD42T auto with Nomad valve body

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jff45 For This Useful Post:

    AB (25th August 2017), Zoc (27th August 2017)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •