OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Mounting a circuit breaker

  1. #1
    Beginner creosote54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Lismore NSW
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Mounting a circuit breaker

    G'day!

    I have a 2008 GU Cab/chassis with a canopy mounted on the rear. I have removed all the old/dodgy wiring in the canopy and wish to upgrade the whole canopy electrical system.

    My first problem is to find a place to mount the circuit breaker (a US made WiseOwl 60amp unit) near the starter battery. Has anyone mounted this type of unit before and, if so, where. Also any photos of bracketry used will be gratefully accepted.

    I am installing 2 x 135ah AGM batteries, a Projecta DC/Solar charger, and intend to run all my lighting, fridges and chargers through a 12 port Narva distribution box.

    I want to run the power from the engine bay to the canopy on the driver's side = shorter run of cable.

    Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks

    Creosote
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    Travelling Podologist Cuppa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ballarat, Vic
    Posts
    6,525
    Thanks
    1,926
    Thanked 6,882 Times in 2,848 Posts
    Mentioned
    160 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a couple of similar circuit breakers in my canopy. One is screwed to a block of plywood which is simply glued to the inside of the canopy, the other screwed onto a thinner ply cover which has other wires behind it . IMG_1920.jpg

    IMG_1918.jpg

    2006 4.2TDi ex-Telstra Remote area Camper. 425w roof mounted solar, 360Ah Aux batts, BCDC1240, Onboard hot & cold pressurised & filtered water, (25 litre hot water calorifier), ARB fridge, ARB freezer, Built in kitchen, heaps of easy access storage, 240v, 3 Genie exhaust + dynotune, 2 lift, Lovells GVM upgrade, second glovebox, ROH Blaktrak steel wheels, Bridgestone D697's (now Toyo RT's), Redarc gauges/pillarpod, Hema HX-1, Icom 450 CB, dual rear view cameras, Onboard 30amp Victron mains charger, second glovebox, dual seat conversion, Tyredog TPMS, Boss PX7 onboard air with 9 litre tank, 350w inverter, Steel bullbar, Harrop Eaton diff lock (front), Warn winch, Snorkel, Dual spares , 160 litre water tank, 180 litre fuel in two tanks (approx 1200km range) 2010 Tvan Tanami. (incl another 70 litre water tank) with matching wheels/tyres (& 3rd spare)
    A Nomadic Life The Big Trip Blog

  4. #3
    Beginner creosote54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Lismore NSW
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Cuppa. My main problem is trying to find a good spot close to the +ve terminal of the starting battery. DO you have any ideas that might help? I'm pretty new to this 12 volt stuff so any help you can offer will be greatly appreciated.

  5. #4
    Patrol Guru 0-TJ-0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    623
    Thanks
    572
    Thanked 396 Times in 256 Posts
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by creosote54 View Post
    Thanks Cuppa. My main problem is trying to find a good spot close to the +ve terminal of the starting battery. DO you have any ideas that might help? I'm pretty new to this 12 volt stuff so any help you can offer will be greatly appreciated.
    You should be able to find a spot on the firewall there somewhere? You do want it as close as possible to the battery but a short run to the firewall will be okay. Just keep it well insulated.
    2003 GU TD42 with a few extra ponies

  6. #5
    Expert Brissieboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Brisbane, Qld
    Posts
    247
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 277 Times in 140 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just be aware that these units are not waterproof despite what they may claim. Either have then up high out of the way or cover them somehow. I have one mounted flat behind the second battery and about level with the top of it and after a failure due to water I made a 3D printed clip-on cover to fit over it. No problem since.

  7. #6
    The master farter
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    14,598
    Thanks
    7,641
    Thanked 9,743 Times in 5,789 Posts
    Mentioned
    404 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a L bracket tek screwed in next to where the battery sits.
    IMG_3326.jpg

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to mudski For This Useful Post:

    Bloggsy (17th November 2020)

  9. #7
    Beginner creosote54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Lismore NSW
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Mudski for the photo. I reckon that'll be just the place.
    And thanks also to 0-TJ-0 and Brissieboy for your information.

  10. #8
    Beginner creosote54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Lismore NSW
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, it's done and thanks again to those who offered information and assistance.
    Another request. I would like to know what would be the correct gauge of wire to use to connect from the starting battery to the CB, and from the CB to the tray on the rear of the truck? As mentioned above the power will be going into a Projecta DC/Solar charger.20201118_075152.jpg20201118_075213.jpg
    P.S. The large red cable in the photos is the power cable for the winch.

  11. #9
    The 747 Winnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Gippsland, VIC
    Posts
    15,606
    Thanks
    7,030
    Thanked 11,898 Times in 6,068 Posts
    Mentioned
    192 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I would use 25mm but 16mm would probably get it done. Voltage drop at 60A is a concern.
    I have just upgraded the 10mm I originally ran to 35mm. My air compressor is now a lot faster and I get no voltage drop at all to my oven which was under performing before.

    Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Winnie For This Useful Post:

    creosote54 (21st November 2020)

  13. #10
    Patrol God threedogs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melb
    Posts
    31,638
    Thanks
    10,350
    Thanked 9,960 Times in 7,393 Posts
    Mentioned
    113 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Great job nice and neat , gotta be happy with that.
    What you dont want is voltage drop, do some maths
    maybe 25mm like Winnie suggested.
    remember all these members have already done this so
    they know whats right and what works
    @Cuppa has an extensive electrical set up in his canopy setup.
    Check out his build thread youll find most of your answers there
    Im sure, or just ask, easy as, TD
    Last edited by threedogs; 21st November 2020 at 02:35 PM.
    04 ST 3lt auto, not enough Mods to keep me happy, but getting there

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •