OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Headunit not working after snorkel install

  1. #1
    Expert dpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Watarrka National Park
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 99 Times in 51 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Headunit not working after snorkel install

    Hey guys
    Last weekend removed my factory snorkel to install a stainless one, in doing so removed the power antenna module and binned it as I donít use it. I have a bullbar am/fm antenna and aftermarket headuinit.
    Took the car for a quick spin after finishing the snorkel, canít remember if the headunit was working or not.
    Started the car up today and headunit not working I also have a factory six stacker cd thing in the boot that I havenít tried using since installing the aftermarket headunit a few years ago and itís started firing up now (like itís trying to change cds).
    Would the headunit not working be linked to removing the power antenna module or just coincidence?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2006 4.2 tdi wagon
    TJM BullBar and bar work, Light bar & spotlights, Airtech snorkel, tradie rack, blocked egr, 2inch lift on 33s and a 3 inch exhaust to go with it all.
    Plenty more to come!

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    The master farter
    mudski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Eltham North
    Posts
    14,645
    Thanks
    7,709
    Thanked 9,841 Times in 5,823 Posts
    Mentioned
    404 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I know the power antenna is activated by the head unit powering on, maybe there is a link to it? But I think my antenna is disconnected also, but still mounted and my stereo is working. So i dunno..

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to mudski For This Useful Post:

    dpetersen (3rd December 2021)

  5. #3
    Patrol God
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    6,361
    Thanks
    5,241
    Thanked 5,570 Times in 2,937 Posts
    Mentioned
    161 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    If it's a factory radio , it will be grounded through the factory aerial.
    Youl have to ground the unit at the back. Can't remember which wire it was at the plug.
    Had to do the same on my 2005 , when I swapped head units.

    Sent using Pixel 6
    2005 TD42TI

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Hodge For This Useful Post:

    dpetersen (3rd December 2021)

  7. #4
    Expert dpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Watarrka National Park
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 99 Times in 51 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Hodge View Post
    If it's a factory radio , it will be grounded through the factory aerial.
    Youl have to ground the unit at the back. Can't remember which wire it was at the plug.
    Had to do the same on my 2005 , when I swapped head units.

    Sent using Pixel 6
    Itís an aftermarket pioneer I think. For some reason I thought it was grounded through the screws holding it into the fascia.
    All good Iíll either cut the loom that I left inside the wheel arch for the antenna holder thing or find the earth on the back of the headunit


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2006 4.2 tdi wagon
    TJM BullBar and bar work, Light bar & spotlights, Airtech snorkel, tradie rack, blocked egr, 2inch lift on 33s and a 3 inch exhaust to go with it all.
    Plenty more to come!

  8. #5
    Expert dpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Watarrka National Park
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 99 Times in 51 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok guys completely stumped now.
    I removed the head unit and disconnected the earth, earthed it to a few different bolts. No success.
    Removed inner guard where loom is for antenna, ran what I believe is the earth to chassis, still no success.
    Checked fuse under kick panel and in actual head unit and all good. Also checked power feed to head unit with test light and there is power there.
    Any suggestions what to do next?




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2006 4.2 tdi wagon
    TJM BullBar and bar work, Light bar & spotlights, Airtech snorkel, tradie rack, blocked egr, 2inch lift on 33s and a 3 inch exhaust to go with it all.
    Plenty more to come!

  9. #6
    Expert dpetersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Watarrka National Park
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 99 Times in 51 Posts
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Turns out it was the 10amp fuse thatís under the bonnet in the back plastic box. Wish I had of checked that sooner but glad itís all working now!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2006 4.2 tdi wagon
    TJM BullBar and bar work, Light bar & spotlights, Airtech snorkel, tradie rack, blocked egr, 2inch lift on 33s and a 3 inch exhaust to go with it all.
    Plenty more to come!

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dpetersen For This Useful Post:

    Cremulator (4th December 2021), MB (5th December 2021)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •