OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GQ Auto ATF Temp Sensor Bypass

  1. #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Mackay, Qld
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    GQ Auto ATF Temp Sensor Bypass

    Hi everyone,
    I have a 95 GQ Nissan Patrol with a Rhino Buggy body swap done to it, but it's still a ways off being 100% done. It won't go into overdrive, no matter how much driving it does. It seems to go through all gears as per normal, aside from being sluggish if I start off in Drive?? The overdrive switch itself works and is showing up on the instrument panel as well, so to m this points to the auto temp sensor in the box failing. I'm wondering if anyone has done a bypass for the auto transmission temp sensor in a GQ Patrol. and I can't find a listing of the part to look at replacing it, so I'm hoping to spoof the signal and see if that works. I've sorted an earthing issue and a few other wiring issues, but this one has me stumped as I'm not overly electrically minded, and the blokes at Nissan here in Mackay were able to give me nothing more than a blank look when I told them what I was looking for. Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    Patrol Freak jff45's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Morayfield, QLD
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 848 Times in 530 Posts
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here’s a pic of where the sensor is located on the valve body and the test procedure in the manual.

    ED147029-3A0D-4986-968B-675F54AE5D2B.jpeg

    896B9F93-E17E-46E8-84DE-B9DF04326265.jpeg
    John

    2001 GUII TI 4500 - Now converted to TD42T auto with Nomad valve body

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jff45 For This Useful Post:

    Cremulator (19th November 2021)

  5. #3
    Expert Brissieboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Brisbane, Qld
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    62
    Thanked 283 Times in 143 Posts
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well a 300 ohm resistor would tell the ECU that the trans is always warm enough, OK for testing but probably not a good idea long term.
    It looks like a 2.2K thermistor would do the job as long as you can mount it so that it does measure the heat.
    Not a real common one (not available at Jaycar) but this one is available from Mouser, and others are also available. This one will be roughly 2.7K at 20C and 0.275K at 80C.

  6. #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Mackay, Qld
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks guys. I think I might just bite the bullet and take it in to someone and have them sort it out. I'm not really in a position at the moment to start taking off oil pans and such. Thanks for the input, much appreciated.

  7. #5
    Patrol Freak jff45's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Morayfield, QLD
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks
    271
    Thanked 848 Times in 530 Posts
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No need to take the oil pan off. You can measure the sensor at the plug of the trans harness. You could simply pull the 2 wires and put a resistor across them.
    John

    2001 GUII TI 4500 - Now converted to TD42T auto with Nomad valve body

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to jff45 For This Useful Post:

    Seth860 (29th December 2021)

  9. #6
    Beginner
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Location
    Mackay, Qld
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 3 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks JFF45, I'll check that out.

  10. #7
    Legendary GQtdauto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Northeast Victoria
    Posts
    3,012
    Thanks
    5,164
    Thanked 1,910 Times in 1,256 Posts
    Mentioned
    41 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If your after the torque converter to lock up try searching for “Rippas torque lock mod” .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •