Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dual Battery Help

Hey guys,

Disclaimer: The Patrol was bought used a month or so ago, and I am still new to this stuff, so I am not 100% on these things. So apologies if I get anything wrong here.

Currently setting up my Patrol for a big lap, and my main concern right now is getting the electrical work right. The current setup has a redarc isolator, and the aux battery looks to be this one, and it is housed in the engine bay.

I've checked the voltage on the aux battery a few times since we got it, and it looks to settle around 12.55 volts or so. My most recent measurement was after the truck has been parked for over a day, so should be no residual charge. I have also driven the truck a few medium-ish city drives (30-50 km each way) over the last couple of weeks, and have not seen the batteries voltage go up at all (after settling). I've followed the 1 cable going out from it, and it looks to only be hooked up to the UHF radio, which is basically always off, so nothing should be draining it. When I fire up the engine, the alternator looks to be working just fine, as I get a reading of 14.35V. I've tried looking up the specific voltage chart for that battery, but so far have not found anything.

For the 6-8 month trip we have planned, the only meaningful power draw will be coming from our 75L Engel combi fridge/freezer. I have some cheap 200W solar panels to charge it on days we will not be driving, but would think we would be on the road every 2nd day for the bulk of the trip.

So my question is: Should I stick with this battery?