Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Y62 cooling fan engaging

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Y62 cooling fan engaging

Hi guys, I’m new to this so please bear with me.
    We just finished a trip to tassie and back, donearound 4000 kms, it was awesome.
    The V8 Datto is an awesome tug, smooth, comphy and power to burn.
    The car is stock except a towpro elite and redarc dc charger fitted, Nissan towbar,sand grabber floor mats and ruffnuts seat covers.
    On the trip home the fan continuously kicked in, the outside temp was 25-30 degrees, we sat on 100-110kms towing a jayco flamingo camper, let’s call it 2 ton.
    The fan dragged all the way, I thought the cooling system on these should handle this no worries considering there made for the Middle East.
    Has anyone had any of this type of problem
    Cheers

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

The master farter
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,262 Times in 6,427 Posts
    Mentioned
    460 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Is it an actual problem though?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Mudski, I’m thinking so, the trip down we’re the same conditions no fan, trip home fan dragging all the way, listening to the roaring of the fan from hobart to Bathurst isn’t much fun, it knocked the fuel and power around.
    I don’t think it’s right to have it engaged even going down long hills, the cooling on one of these should hardly ever kick in.
    Last edited by Crapwelder; 10th January 2019 at 11:08 AM. Reason: To acknowledge the poster

Thanks
    Thanked 6,640 Times in 3,287 Posts
    Mentioned
    44 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    There are a few owners starting to chat about fan clutch control issues on faceache...

Is your still doing the 'roar its guts out for a minute or so' on start up and then dropping out like normal?