Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Battery and Smart Alternator

So how "smart" is all this?
    I've had the Y62 for 2.5yrs and finally it has got to me seeing the battery at times as low as 12.0V.
    Never had any trouble starting the car but seriously doesn't invoke much confidence should I park it while the Batt is that low for any length of time and expect all to be well.
    I dis-connected the current sensor but haven't done any real trips as yet.
    Anyone had any dramas following the dis-connect? DTC's, fuel consumption etc.
    First time ever I saw the resting voltage at 12.7V after a quick drive, while running seeing between 13.8 to 14.5V.
    Do have a winch, which I am new to such things, and does put my mind at ease that the battery has best capacity to operate it should it be required, then recharge fairly quickly (30sec on then 30sec off).
    Look forward to others' experiences.
    Cheers BruceR.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Advanced
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day Bruce
    I haven't had my Patrol very long only done a little over 7k , I disconnected the shunt on the battery earth after the first couple of tanks of fuel , it doesn't appear to of made any difference to fuel economy.
    My ScanGauge shows a constant 14.2v . I do have a Winch but haven't used it in anger yet .

We did just over 1700k last weekend all bitumen roads , I drive at the speed limit where possible
    ( GPS so true speed ) fuel average 13.3lt x 100k , first drive after fitting the Rhino Bar and Winch .

Thanks
    Thanked 1,387 Times in 294 Posts
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)