OUR VIDEOS GALLERY MEMBER SPONSORSHIP VENDOR SPONSORSHIP

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Using trailer wire.

  1. #1
    Legendary jay see's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,352
    Thanks
    2,510
    Thanked 1,798 Times in 1,134 Posts
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Using trailer wire.

    Wanting to rewire by my USB, switchers and plugs from my fuse block. Would trailer wire be OK.

    Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk
    12/97 GEE YOU
    4.5lt Gas blower. Lots of mods to come.....all in good time.

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many

     

  3. #2
    Moderator MudRunnerTD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Geelong
    Posts
    13,369
    Thanks
    9,086
    Thanked 9,576 Times in 5,048 Posts
    Mentioned
    147 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes if they are only switching relays and USB plugs. it will be fine. i have recently sources some 15amp 7 core HD trailer wire from Jaycar which i will run up on the roof of the GQ for LED Strip Lighting and a couple of LED work lights.
    Its a Nissan! =====> Its a Keeper!! ....... Got a TD42 in it BONUS!! ....... I'm a lucky bugger! I've got 2 of em!
    Check out my Toy --> MudRunnerTD's GQ From the Ground Up

    Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Dung Beetle View Post
    Wish it was Nissan though, Toyotas just can't keep up with the Pootrol pace.
    The only good thing about an 80 series is..... the front end?? Wrong!!, the Engine?? Wrong!! the Full Time 4WD system?? Wrong!! Its the NissanPatrol.com.au stubby holder fitted over the transfer lever.
    WARNING: Towballs used for recoveries can, and do kill people and damage property.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to MudRunnerTD For This Useful Post:

    jay see (14th March 2018)

  5. #3
    Legendary jay see's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    3,352
    Thanks
    2,510
    Thanked 1,798 Times in 1,134 Posts
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by MudRunnerTD View Post
    Yes if they are only switching relays and USB plugs. it will be fine. i have recently sources some 15amp 7 core HD trailer wire from Jaycar which i will run up on the roof of the GQ for LED Strip Lighting and a couple of LED work lights.
    Thanks mate.

    Going to do it properly this time.

    Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk
    12/97 GEE YOU
    4.5lt Gas blower. Lots of mods to come.....all in good time.

  6. #4
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FYI, as a rule of thumb always use double the actual rating to be safe. The Kings 22" LED bar draws about 7amps at full blast, so a 15amp or higher cable would suit best.
    But if you are going the full width with a 43" bar you will need to pump almost 10amps, so you would be better off with a heavier cable.
    The 6" bars only draw about 1.3amps, so you could run 2 or 3 of these in parallel with 10amp cable, and not even need a relay.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to neilo99 For This Useful Post:

    jay see (6th April 2018), threedogs (8th April 2018)

  8. #5
    Advanced Flex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    75
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 76 Times in 27 Posts
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I always use a voltage drop calculator for all wiring. Wire/ cable that is rated for 15 Amps won't catch on fire at 15 Amp, however at 15 Amps it will have a considerable voltage drop.
    For example wiring a fridge which is located in the back of a vehicle I would use a 5mm2 minimum which would give around 0.68V drop @ 10A. Don't forget to add the negative cable length in the calculator, not just the positive.
    Here's a web site for the calculator:
    https://www.rapidtables.com/calc/wir...alculator.html
    Last edited by Flex; 4th May 2018 at 03:29 PM.

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Flex For This Useful Post:

    MudRunnerTD (4th May 2018), PeeBee (4th May 2018), threedogs (5th May 2018)

  10. #6
    Patrol God threedogs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melb
    Posts
    32,400
    Thanks
    9,917
    Thanked 9,340 Times in 7,090 Posts
    Mentioned
    79 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Good to hear do it once do it right too many using scotch locs or just twisting them together.
    fully soldered and heat shrink, carefull not to crimp wires putting it all back together,
    Drop in one time John been too long eh
    04 ST 3lt auto, not enough Mods to keep me happy, but getting there

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •