Thread: ZD30DDTi (non-CRD) in 2000 Patrol suddenly dies & won't restart

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ZD30DDTi (non-CRD) in 2000 Patrol suddenly dies & won't restart

...as preface, apart from being mechanic, I'm also an electronics technician, and that said... I only got involved with this repair once I realized the actual problem was purely electronic, not so much a mechanical one....(but obviously there's a bit of tool work involved to get this job done)...

....shorted pins 1 & 8 on the (faux) OBD2 connector to get the MIL light to blink out DTC 0703 -- injector pump communication problem, loom checks out good from pump to ECU, so not there ~ and I'll guess everyone has some idea of how much a replacement pump is...(plus labor for removal/refitting)....

....find out it's fitted with a vp44 EDC pump, do a little research on the matter, and come across this doc ~ http://www.autoelektronika.co.rs/Eng...044%20pump.doc ..... oh goody, so it's a measly $5 worth of electronic components at the crux of the fault! Awesome, right in my ballpark...

..so yeah, remove vp44 from engine (-not- much fun), pull the EDC lid off, confirm the fault and rework the electronics ~ and I'm reasonably confident the pump is now fixed (bad components replaced, but you can't be absolutely sure the other components on the hybrid PCB have survived) ....find out for sure when I refit it (more non-fun) in the next day or 3....I may even post back to confirm it's fixed...

Point of this post? Well, don't be forking out $$$$$$ for a new/reco injector pump on fault 0703, as 95% of the time it's not the pump perse ... it's just the EDC electronics have failed. Hope this saves someone a few grand....

2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to solder For This Useful Post:

FNqGu04 (16th November 2017), MudRunnerTD (15th November 2017), the evil twin (28th November 2017)

3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned