Thread: Odometer Overclocking / Cluster Part Failure

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Odometer Overclocking / Cluster Part Failure

Reposting (had initially posted as an introduction by mistake)

Hi all,

I hope you are well. I am based in Nairobi, Kenya, recently bought a second hand Nissan Patrol 2004 TB45 (4.5 Liter Petrol). The odometer is overclocking, for example, 5km for every 1km travelled. I took it to my local mechanic who have diagnosed a cluster fail and quoted USD 2000 for a new cluster. Though from my google searches I can see this is quite a common problem / defect for Nissan Patrols with lots of different options out there to fix, from earthing, to correcting voltage sparks / fluctuations. I am not a mechanic or mechanically savvy enough to do these.

Basically wanted to check if anyone has had a similar problem and if there is a temporary or permanent fix to the issue? My concern is spending money on a new cluster and then the problem still continuing.

Thank you!

Mowgli

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 2,537 Times in 1,299 Posts
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Does the spedometer show the correct speed or is that incorrect as well? Not sure how a 2004 mod works but if both the speed and k's travelled are out I would think the sender end of things ie. gearbox. If only the distance is wrong, I guess the cluster somehow "calculates" the distance from the speedometer, either mechanicaly or electronically. Small descrepancies somtimes occur because of wrong gear ratios, wrong diffs or different size wheels, but 5:1 is hugh.
    2005 GU IV ST 3.0. Snorkel. Roof rack. Awning. Spots. Welded I/C. Dual batteries & VSR. UHF. Barn door hinge extension. Roof top spot lights. Rear drawers. 2" lift. NADS. EGT and boost gauges. Trans temp and water temp gauges. Provent 200 catch can. Rear ladder