Thread: Which tablet

Expert
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Which tablet

Hi all. As title suggests looking to buy a tablet. Plan to use for general Internet bit also for off road navigation. Please keep it simple I'm not very technical minded. Also what programs are best for nav. Have hema explorer on the phone but not keen on having to pay for their upgrade. Have heard ozi explorer thrown around

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Expert
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    G'day,

A tablet is very generalized question. First you need to decide on the platform that is being Android or iOS (Apple iPad) or those over priced Microsoft Surface offerings powered. Then it is the size, 7", 8", 10".

I have 7" Android tablet and honestly I struggle to keep it somewhere on the Nissan dashboard/windscreen.

Then it is a question of navigation apps, Ozi explorer for Android still needs to be purchased and you still need valid map files e.g. from Hema.

There is also a question of privacy, Android based tablets leak huge amount of personal information to 3rd parties unless you know how to gain super user privilege and block/plug those leaks, evil Google will simply fight all the way to steal all the juicy data about you, your habits etc. IMHO Android ecosystem is becoming a liability to personal safety and privacy. The incessant data mining and "phoning home" on Android platform is a nightmare G. Orwell has warned about in 1984 novel.

If you are not technically minded and don't mind forking out a bit extra and I can't believe I'm saying it (I used to be a huge Android fan) I'd seriously consider Apple's iPad line of tablet, they just work and Apple is banking on protecting your privacy actually.

Otherwise avoid the cheap Chinese Android tablets, they're utter junks/garbage. Usually Samsung tablets are OK.

Regards
    Last edited by Rumcajs; 17th November 2016 at 08:42 PM.