Thread: Conversion tb45e to td42

Advanced
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Conversion tb45e to td42

Hi all ive just finished my conversion from a TB45e to a TD42 t. Now i havnt done the turbo yet but have been driving my gu around for about 5k with not a problem i started by purchading a td42 about 12 mths ago & have been slowly converting it with the alt on the right side etc but fue to fighting cancer its been a slow slog untill the tb45e died so in went the td42 & i also used the old tb45e TPS instead of fitting the ZD30 pedal if anyone is interested i can post some pics i have done all of this conversion by myself as im a plant mechanic & make any brackets that are required so if anyone wants to know anything drop me a line

2. The Following User Says Thank You to jgoose For This Useful Post:

Touses (13th June 2016)

3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Thanks
    Thanked 1,247 Times in 644 Posts
    Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heya bloke, if you got piccies that would be tops. Hope you're kickin that cancers arse!
    I AM NOT STUBBORN.........I prefer the term, Singlemindedly independent !

Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 614 Posts
    Mentioned
    13 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sure a TB45E to TD42 conversion will interest lots of people especially if you've done things a little different to others.
    The mention of TPS suggests you also used the auto trans. I couldn't find a practical way to reuse the TB45 TPS so I used the ZD30 unit.
    I had belt vibration issues with the alternator on the right side so I mounted a tensioner pulley.

It would be good to see pics of what you've done.
    John

2001 GUII TI 4500 - Now converted to TD42T auto with Nomad valve body

Thanks
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    welcome mate, sounds like you have been fairly busy, what with kicking the Big C, and this project