Thread: Fuel starvation, '92 TD42.

Beginner
    Thanks
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Fuel starvation, '92 TD42.

I'm new to the world of Nissans and diesel motors so I may ask the odd silly question, but I'd appreciate some help. I have recently acquired a '92 GQ Patrol, in very good condition, only 139K kms, but with ocassional lack of response when I want or need to accelerate hard. When the problem occurs, the response can be varied - ultra slow pickup, or pickup OK to a certain point then falls away sharply (with the kind of groan you might get if you were in a petrol vehicle and suddenly pulled the choke on full), or pickup OK then engine "missing" (like bad/dirty points or a cracked distributor lead might do in a petrol vehicle - for those of you old enough to remember cams, points and condensers!).

If I drive conservatively (which I do most of the time anyway) there's no problem. Only when I go hard on the accelerator, and I notice it mainly in 2nd and 3rd gear. I suspect that's because the higher gears don't cause the rapid increase in revs that you get at the lower gears, and so the fuel supply can keep up.

I've read forum posts about the main fuel filter (replaced, bled, last weekend), and the scintered wire filter in the banjo fitting at the front of the injector pump (checked - mine doesn't have one, might've been removed by previous owner?) and I even took the plate off the top of the fuel tank and checked the fuel pickup line to make sure there was no obstruction. I'm now looking at other potential problem areas.